Cheerios recall, oat cereal contains wheat

General Mills recently retooled its Cheerios manufacturing systems to not allow any gluten to creep in.


In February, General Mills catered to a new market and began producing five alternative kinds of Cheerios such as gluten-free Honey Nut Cheerios.

No other General Mills cereals are affected.

Company spokesperson Kirsite Foster said, “There have been reports of illness by consumers online”.

The company said Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals produced at other General Mills’ facilities, or on dates other than those noted at the Lodi facility, are not affected. The recalled code dates are detailed in our press release issued minutes ago. Consumers who are allergic to wheat, or have celiac disease, will face certain health risks if they had purchased and consumed either of these two batches according to CBS News. That’s when wheat flour entered the Cheerios gluten-free oat-based system.

Reportedly, more than one million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios have been recalled.

Cereal eaters, beware: if you can’t eat wheat products, you may want to double-check your Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios boxes.

“We sincerely apologize to the gluten-free community and to anyone who may have been impacted”.

“We are not sure how costly the recall will be”, the broker said.


General Mills announced the information on Twitter and on its official website as how to identify the boxes that has been compromised. It was a major development in the mainstreaming of gluten-free foods, which were once a category in the supermarket.

Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios