The voluntary recall includes original Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios from a two-week time span in July.
Recalled boxes can be identified by their “BETTER IF USED BY” code dates, including the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California.
The company says these certain boxes contain wheat, an allergen that is undeclared on the box.
Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease, which affects about 1 percent of the population, according to the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness.
The Minneapolis-based food company said in a note that wheat flour was “inadvertently introduced” to the gluten-free oat flour system in an “isolated incident”. Products containing wheat can also cause illness or discomfort for individuals with gluten intolerance. On Friday, General Mills announced it was recalling a small amount of frozen Cascadian Farm Cut Green Beans after a package tested positive for listeria, the second listeria-related recall for this brand of green bean this year.
The company shared an image on Twitter with more info on how consumers can see if their boxes were affected.
Anyone who purchased original Cheerios with the “Better if used by” dates of July 14-17 of 2016 with the same “LD” following is asked to call the same number. This tweet from the company shows where to check for that information.