Manchester United squad numbers for 2015/16 Barclays Premier League

Depay will make his first competitive appearance for Manchester United this weekend when they open their Premier League account against Tottenham Hotspur.


Depay, a £25 million signing from PSV Eindhoven has taken over from the sold Angel Di Maria in the shirt graced by five of United’s greatest players, but worn by Antonio Valencia and Michael Owen in recent seasons.

A number of club legends have graced the number seven shirt throughout the years at Old Trafford, with the likes of David Beckham, Cristiano Ronaldo, George Best and Eric Cantona just a select few.

Luke Shaw has moved from the number 3 shirt he wore last season to 23 – the number he wore at Southampton – while Marouane Fellaini has switched to 27 in order to let Bastian Schweinsteiger take 31.

It was reported by British media earlier this week that Depay personally requested the No. 7 shirt.

No 2 and No 9 are free for next season at the moment after Rafael and Radamel Falcao left the club, while David De Gea retains the No 1 shirt despite continued speculation over his future.

It’s something of a tell-tale sign too that Victor Valdes has not been given a number after falling out with Louis van Gaal. Phil Jones; 5. Marcos Rojo; 6. Wayne Rooney; 11. Adnan Januzaj; 12. Javier “Chicharito” Hernandez 16.


Meanwhile, fellow new additions Morgan Schneiderlin and Matteo Darmian will wear No. 28 and No. 36 respectively, the same shirts they were handed during United’s pre-season tour of the USA.

     NEW BOY Bastian Schweinsteiger