Pakistan announce squads for England, Zimbabwe series

England have announced their Test, ODI and T20 squads to take on Pakistan in the collection in the UAE beginning on October 13.


Pakistan “A” will face England in two warm-up matches prior to the Test series, and the games will offer the opportunity for one player to join the senior squad thereafter.

Pakistan selectors have included three uncapped players and recalled Sohaib Maqsood from injury for the two Twenty20 Internationals against Zimbabwe later this month.

Pakistan, who travel to Zimbabwe before playing England in the UAE, have left one spot open in the Test squad.

However, offspinner Saeed Ajmal, who is striving hard to make a comeback after having remodeled his bowling action following a ban for “throwing”, was overlooked by the selectors.

He has missed Pakistan’s last three series against Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

According to a spokesman of PCB, Misbah-ul-Haq will lead the Test side, Azhar Ali One Day worldwide (ODI) side while Shahid Afridi will lead T20 team. The tour of Zimbabwe includes a couple of T20Is and three ODIs, between September 28 and October 5.

Jayawardene will work with the Test batsmen until the end of the first Test against Pakistan, while Collingwood returns to the set-up to work with the limited-overs group in the UAE and will also work at next year’s World Twenty20.

Sohaib Maqsood will appear in T20 and ODI squads against Zimbabwe after being out due to injury.

“We have picked two left-arm spin bowlers for the two practice games against England and whoever performs well will be added to the test squad”, Rashid said. Fast-rising leg-spinner Yasir Shah and left-arm spinner Zulfiqar Babar have filled the void in the national team.

Shahid Afridi (c), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Mukhtar Ahmed, Umar Akmal, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Amir Yamin, Mohammad Irfan, Bilal Asif, Wahab Riaz, Imad Wasim, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Imran Khan Jr.


Test squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Fawad Alam, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Yasir Shah, Zulfiaqr Babar, Wahab Riaz, Imran Khan, Rahat Ali, Junaid Khan.

Pakistan name Riaz, Alam to face England